• Comprising 28 European countries (LISTED ABOVE) that have abolished passport and any other type of border control at their common borders, also referred to as internal borders.


  • Functions as a single country for international travel purposes, with a common visa policy.  The Area is named after the Schengen Agreement.


  • Eliminated internal border controls with the other Schengen members, and strengthened external border controls with non-Schengen states.


  • Encourages the free movement of goods, information, money and people.

  • Created in the aftermath of the Second World War.


  • An unique economic and political partnership between 28 European countries that together cover much of the continent.


  • The first steps were to foster economic cooperation: the idea being that countries who trade with one another become economically interdependent and so more likely to avoid conflict.  The result was the European Economic Community (EEC), created in 1958, and initially increasing economic cooperation between six countries: Belgium, Germany, France, Italy, Luxembourg and the Netherlands.

  • Since then, a huge single market has been created and continues to develop towards its full potential.  What began as a purely economic union has evolved into an organisation spanning policy areas, from development aid to environment.

  • Name change from the EEC to the European Union (EU) in 1993 reflected this.  The EU has delivered half a century of peace, stability and prosperity, helped raise living standards, and launched a single European currency, the Euro.

  • Abolition of border controls between EU countries, people can travel freely throughout most of the continent.  And it has become much easier to live and work abroad in Europe.


  • Currently the EU comprises of the following member countries:  

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, CzechRepublic, DenmarkEstonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom. 




This site was designed with the
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now